Artist’s Notes (Duality Event 2 : Wake)

This post you see here is the commentary section for my flash comic entry in Duality, which you can read here.

The event started a month ago and since I’ve been busy with our thesis and on-the-job-training, next thing I know I only had less than a week left.  So I had to think really hard what story to write down the script, what to research and to plan the panels and figure out Actionscript 3 in that time frame. So much dedication, there.

I was inspired by " symbolic primitive art" to make the cover.  (front)

I was inspired by ” symbolic primitive art” to make the cover. (front)

These images you see are the cover for the entry, and I usually take a long time with the cover to make it eye-catching, like I do in my entries for Sixfold League. But my approach for this OCT has a more serious tone and, quite possibly, I think– to be a bit deeper in a sense. I don’t know, it’s just me talking.

Inspired by symbolic primitive art. (back)

Inspired by symbolic primitive art. (back)

What to do for the cover to make it still hold meaning but at the same time takes not too long to draw? Well, draw glorified scribbles, then sprinkle a bit of symbolism here and there!

Now in the topic of the actual entry itself I tried to find a way to make the opening be able to stand on its own, and also can be “connected” to the prologue like some sort transition. The image you see below is a “dream” the character Harun (right) is having for an unspecified period of time.  (*coughs*It’s the easiest to draw since there are no backgrounds at all*cough*).

This mystery freak will remain a mystery until I introduced "it" properly.

This mystery freak will remain a mystery until I introduced “it” properly.

And then there came reality– backgrounds, details and all. It would take too much time if I included the scene where a woman help the unconscious Harun towards her house. I’m glad I didn’t include that, though– because I made it in time for the deadline. The dream is a perfect excuse to jump start to this scene.

Harun wakes up in someone else's house after being KOd during a shipwreck.

Harun wakes up in someone else’s house after being KO’d during a shipwreck.

Unova is an “english-speaking country” and Harun is a foreigner from a place inspired by Turkey. To set a bit of difference I squeezed in a few Turkish words in his repertoire– and in story it’s his usual “slip of the tongue” and simply can’t help going back to his native language. To be honest, I myself can’t speak Turkish, nor understand it– I have to rely on Google or perhaps even better, a person who knows the language.

It means "Thank Goodness" in Turkish.

It means “Thank Goodness” in Turkish.

Airanke (the creator of the woman Maeve) and I joked that these two should end up together. Well, see how that goes in the end, haha. Though they’re nowhere near the level of lovers, heck– they’re friends at best.

It's Harun's way of saying, "Stop being so modest, I'm the one one who owes you here!"

It’s Harun’s way of saying, “Stop being so modest, I’m the one one who owes you here!”

As I was typing the script, somehow the story went a little curvy and took a different turn– the characters seemd to make everything flow together. This conversation Maeve had with her pokemon, Sayf, is actually a bit different in the script, which was serious in the moment. Sometimes, I notice the characters direct the plot in different directions. >.>

Maeve being a woman.

Maeve being a woman.

Well, it’s not in the main character’s (Harun’s) looks, but I made the character more observant than he seems. Maybe beneath the “innocent-looking” face lies so many ideas and thoughts that no one would ever bother. An ignorant character won’t last long in a war, is why.

Whoops-- nice try, smuggler.

Whoops– nice try, smuggler.

But perhaps Harun knows a lot more than he lets on, and that “speech” just hammers the point. In contrast to Rufina (Sixfold League), this character is down-to-earth when it comes to the “know things”, and his knowledge has practical purposes. After all, he had involvement in his country’s local politics– he has to know things beyond his duty.

BUSTED. Looks like those poor saps have to watch out for this guy.

BUSTED. Looks like those poor saps have to watch out for this guy.

I’m sure someone will wonder why the smuggler never used any pokemon, since Harun left his at home and the former is at and advantage for that. Well, thing is– the smuggler doesn’t have pokemon either. His line of “job” requires you to constantly avoid getting caught– even if it means making your own companion the decoy. As evidence by his inexperience, he lost his early on and now relies on just… using knives. >.>

YIKES.

YIKES.

I totally did NOT expect this to happen though. It seems so out-of-character when I look at his application description, but somehow something tells me this feels “right”. Seriously, I don’t know anymore.

I cannot believe it myself... I made something epic-looking. I think so...

I cannot believe it myself… I made something epic-looking. I think so…

It really feels refreshing to draw the world of pokemon beyond the modern period, from classical to the romantic era. Looks at that– Rapidash/Ponyta-drawn carriages! XD. Also, I figured Maeve would live quite far from the settlements, but that’s just guesswork since I don’t really know where Airanke wants her to live.

The Mage Academy won't worry about food shortage in a while.

Looks like the Mage Academy won’t worry about food shortage in a while.

Leave a Reply

